GRAND VALLEY METRO COUNCIL

Board Meeting

January 12, 2017

9:00 a.m.

Kent County Commission Chambers

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

Al Vanderberg called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Members Present:

Greg Madura Alpine Township

Rick Baker At-Large

Rob Beahan Cascade Township

Daryl Delabbio Kent County

Charlie DeVries At-Large Member

Mike DeVries Grand Rapids Township Brian Donovan City of East Grand Rapids

Algoma Township Kevin Green George Haga Ada Township Carol Hennessey Kent County Tom Hooker Byron Township City of Greenville John Hoppough Jim Holtvluwer Ottawa County City of Walker Mark Huizenga Kent County Diane Jones Steve Kepley City of Kentwood Steve Maas City of Grandville

Karen McCarthy At-Large

Matt McConnon Courtland Township City of Wayland Tim McLean City of Hastings Brenda McNabb-Stange Jack Poll City of Wyoming **Ottawa County** Al Vanderberg Cameron VanWyngarden Plainfield Township Patrick Waterman City of Hudsonville City of Grand Rapids Mike Verhulst City of Wyoming Bill VerHulst Duane Weeks Village of Middleville City of Grand Rapids Lynee Wells Mike Womack City of Cedar Springs

Members Absent:

Open Allendale Township
Micki Benz At-Large Member
Rosalynn Bliss City of Grand Rapids
Ken Bergwerff Jamestown Township
Bruce Brown City of Belding

Dan Carlton Georgetown Township

Jim Buck Secretary

Cannon Township Deb Diepenhorst Jason Eppler City of Ionia Jerry Hale Lowell Township Open Gaines Township **Brian Harrison** Caledonia Township Open Nelson Township Steven Patrick City of Coopersville Julius Suchy Village of Sparta Open Village of Sand Lake Tallmadge Township Open

Others Present:

Tom Butcher Grand Valley State University

Anne Armstrong Office of Gov. Snyder

Abed Itani Grand Valley Metro Council Chris Brown Grand Valley Metro Council

Mike Burns Lowell
Dave Dewey Sand Lake
Barb Holt The Rapid

Gayle McCrath Grand Valley Metro Council
Jason Moore Grand Valley Metro Council
Wendy Ogilvie Grand Valley Metro Council

Mark Rambo City of Kentwood

Peter Varga The Rapid

John Weiss Grand Valley Metro Council

2. Minutes

MOTION – To Approve the November 2016 GVMC Board Minutes. MOVE - Holtvluwer. SUPPORT – McNabb-Stange. MOTION CARRIED.

3. Public Comment

None

4. Oath of Office

Kent County Clerk Lisa Postumus-Lyons administered the Oath of Office to Mike Verhulst – City of Grand Rapids; Kevin Green – Algoma Twp.; Greg Madura – Alpine Twp.; and Tom Hooker – Byron Twp.

5. New Member Orientation

John Weiss asked all new members who haven't yet had individual meetings with him to stay after for a short orientation meeting or contact him to schedule a one-on-one visit.

6. Environmental Programs Funding Announcement

Wendy Ogilvie announced that through the Urban Waters partnership and with the help of Senator Debbie Stabenow, we have been awarded a federal grant of \$8 million to work on urban waters. About half of the funding will go to the habitat restoration for Restore the Rapids initiative. The rest of the funding will go for work upstream. Through this effort, they were also able to secure another \$6 million in matching dollars from area donors.

Congratulations to Wendy and her staff!

7. Groundswell Presentation

The Groundswell presentation has been postponed until a later date.

8. Unified Planning Work Program Amendment

Abed Itani presented the request for amendment to the Unified Planning Work Program.

MOTION – To Approve the Proposed Unified Planning Work Program Amendment – MOVE – Donovan. SUPPORT – McNabb-Stange. MOTION CARRIED.

9. Other

a. February GVMC Board Meeting Cancelled

10. Adjourn 9:45 a.m. MOTION – To Adjourn. MOVE – Hoppough. SUPPORT – Haga. MOTION CARRIED.