GRAND VALLEY METRO COUNCIL

Board Meeting

November 18, 2015

11:00 a.m.

Grand Valley State University 50 Front Ave SW Grand Rapids

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 11:00 a.m. by Al Vanderberg.

Members Present:

Alex Arends Alpine Township

Rick Baker At-Large

Ken Bergwerff Jamestown Township

Tom Butcher Grand Valley State University

Jim Buck Secretary

Bruce Brown City of Belding
Deb Deipenhorst Cannon Township

Brian Donovan City of East Grand Rapids
Mike DeVries Grand Rapids Township

George Haga Ada Township
Doyle Hayes At-Large Member
George Heartwell City of Grand Rapids

Carol Hennessey Kent County Jim Holtvluwer **Ottawa County** John Hoppough City of Greenville Mark Huizenga City of Walker Diane Jones **Kent County** City of Kentwood Steve Kepley Mark Lemoine At-Large Member At-large Member Mick McGraw City of Hastings Brenda McNabb-Stange **Audrey Nevins-Weiss** Byron Township

Cy Moore Treasurer
Al Vanderberg Ottawa County
Bill VerHulst City of Wyoming
Patrick Waterman
Duane Weeks Village of Middleville

Members Absent:

Jerry Alkema Allendale Township
Rob Beahan Cascade Township
Nancy Clary Algoma Township
Dan Carlton Georgetown Township

Daryl Delabbio Kent County
Jason Eppler City of Ionia
Jerry Hale Lowell Township
Brian Harrison Caledonia Township
Don Hilton, Sr. Gaines Township
Mark Howe City of Lowell

City of Grand Rapids Elias Lumpkins, Jr. Steve Maas City of Grandville Matt McConnon Courtland Township Steven Patrick City of Coopersville City of Wyoming Jack Poll City of Grand Rapids Milt Rohwer City of Wayland Michael Selden Plainfield Township Jay Spencer Thad Taylor City of Cedar Springs Roger Towsley Village of Sand Lake Toby VanEss Tallmadge Township Michael Young City of Rockford

Others Present:

Chris Brown Grand Valley Metro Council
Abed Itani Grand Valley Metro Council
Gayle McCrath Grand Valley Metro Council

Jason Moore Grand Valley Metro Council / REGIS

Wendy Ogilvie Grand Valley Metro Council

Peter Varga The Rapid

John Weiss Grand Valley Metro Council

2. Public Comment

None

3. Meeting Minutes

MOTION – To Approve the GVMC Board Meeting Minutes of September 2015. MOVE – Donovan. SUPPORT – McNabb-Stange. MOTION CARRIED.

4. City of Kentwood Request for Collaboration

Kentwood Mayor Steve Kepley explained an issue Kentwood is having with a new wireless phone service provider regarding right-of-way issues and asked the Council if it would like to work cooperatively towards a solution on the new wireless tower systems. The Metropolitan Act specifies utilities as an area within the Council's jurisdiction. Those interested should contact John Weiss who will look into the expense involved for legal fees, etc.

5. Regional Prosperity Initiative Resolution

John Weiss reported on the success of the West Michigan Regional Prosperity Alliance to-date, and the grant request for 2016. A resolution in favor of the initiative and GVMC as the fiduciary for the 2016 was proposed.

MOTION – To Approve the Resolution in Support of the 2016 RPI Grant. MOVE – McNabb-Stange. SUPPORT – Baker. MOTION CARRIED.

6. Appointment of GVMC 2015/16 Officers and Executive Committee

MOTION – To Approve the Following Slate of Officers and Executive Committee Members:

- Al Vanderberg Chair
- Mike DeVries Vice Chair
- Jim Buck Secretary
- Cy Moore Treasurer
- Alex Arends
- Daryl Delabbio
- George Heartwell Rosalynn Bliss
- Don Hilton
- Michael Young

AMENDMENT – Offered by Heartwell for incoming Grand Rapids Mayor Rosalynn Bliss to take his Place on the Executive Committee. SUPPORT – Lemoine. MOTION CARRIED.

7. Recommendation of Executive Committee to Cancel December GVMC Board Meeting

MOTION – To Cancel the December 2015 GVMC Board Meeting. MOVE – Heartwell. SUPPORT – Arends. MOTION CARRIED

- 8. Discussion with Valerie Brader, Executive Director of Michigan Agency for Energy
- 9. Adjourn 11:55 a.m.