GRAND VALLEY METRO COUNCIL

Board Meeting

February 4, 2016

8:30 a.m.

Kent County Commission Chambers 300 Monroe Grand Rapids, MI

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

Mike DeVries called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Members Present:

Alex Arends	Alpine Township
Rob Beahan	Cascade Township
Rosalynn Bliss	City of Grand Rapids
Tom Butcher	Grand Valley State University
Bruce Brown	City of Belding
Deb Diepenhorst	Cannon Township
Mike DeVries	Grand Rapids Township
George Haga	Ada Township
Don Hilton, Sr.	Gaines Township
Jim Holtvluwer	Ottawa County
Mark Huizenga	City of Walker
Diane Jones	Kent County
Steve Kepley	City of Kentwood
Mark Lemoine	At-Large Member
Tim McLean	City of Wayland
Brenda McNabb-Stange	City of Hastings
Steven Patrick	City of Coopersville
Jack Poll	City of Wyoming
Jay Spencer	Plainfield Township
Bill VerHulst	City of Wyoming
Patrick Waterman	City of Hudsonville

Members Absent:

Jerry Alkema	Allendale Township
Rick Baker	At-Large
Ken Bergwerff	Jamestown Township
Jim Buck	Secretary

Nancy Clary Dan Carlton	Algoma Township Georgetown Township
Daryl Delabbio	Kent County
Brian Donovan	City of East Grand Rapids
Jason Eppler	City of Ionia
Jerry Hale	Lowell Township
Brian Harrison	Caledonia Township
Carol Hennessey	Kent County
Mark Howe	City of Lowell
John Hoppough	City of Greenville
Steve Maas	City of Grandville
Matt McConnon	Courtland Township
Cy Moore	Treasurer
Audrey Nevins-Weiss	Byron Township
Milt Rohwer	City of Grand Rapids
Thad Taylor	City of Cedar Springs
Roger Towsley	Village of Sand Lake
Al Vanderberg	Ottawa County
Toby VanEss	Tallmadge Township
Duane Weeks	Village of Middleville

Others Present:

Chris Brown	Grand Valley Metro Council
Abed Itani	Grand Valley Metro Council
Dennis Kent	MDOT
Gayle McCrath	Grand Valley Metro Council
Jason Moore	Grand Valley Metro Council / REGIS
Wendy Ogilvie	Grand Valley Metro Council
Peter Varga	The Rapid
John Weiss	Grand Valley Metro Council

2. Moment of Silence

Vice Chair Mike DeVries requested a moment of silence in remembrance of Michael Young, Rockford City Manager & GVMC Representative.

3. Public Comment

None

4. Oath of Office

Kent County Clerk Mary Hollinrake administered the Oath of Office to Tim McLean – City of Wayland; Deb Diepenhorst – Cannon Township; and Rosalynn Bliss – City of Grand Rapids.

5. Meeting Minutes

MOTION – To Approve the GVMC Board Meeting Minutes of November 2015. MOVE – Lemoine. SUPPORT – DeVries. MOTION CARRIED.

6. Annual Report

John Weiss and GVMC staff presented the FY2014/15 Annual Report. Overall GVMC activities were highlighted, as well as Transportation, Environmental Programs and REGIS. The three year fiscal transformation is complete and the organization is on sound financial footing.

Peter Haefner of Vredeveld Haefner reported on the annual audit. It was a very clean audit with three nonqualified opinions and no substantive deficiencies.

7. Adjourn – 10:00 a.m.

Motion to Adjourn. MOVE - Poll. SUPPORT - Beahan. MOTION CARRIED.