GRAND VALLEY METRO COUNCIL

Board Meeting

August 3, 2017

8:30 a.m.

Kent County Commission Chambers

MINUTES

1. Call to Order

Al Vanderberg called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Members Present:

Rick Baker At-Large

Rob Beahan Cascade Township
Wayman Britt Kent County
Robyn Britton Nelson Township
Ken Bergwerff Jamestown Township

Mike Burns City of Lowell

Dan Carlton

Mike DeVries

Deb Diepenhorst

David Dewey

David Dewey

Brian Donovan

Georgetown Township

Cannon Township

Village of Sand Lake

City of East Grand Rapids

Kevin Green Algoma Township
George Haga Ada Township
John Hoppough City of Greenville
Mark Huizenga City of Walker
Diane Jones Kent County
Steve Kepley City of Kentwood
Greg Madura Alpine Township

Karen McCarthy At-Large

City of Hastings Brenda McNabb-Stange City of Coopersville Steven Patrick Jack Poll City of Wyoming Village of Sparta Julius Suchy Ottawa County Al Vanderberg Plainfield Township Cameron VanWyngarden City of Hudsonville Patrick Waterman Lynee Wells City of Grand Rapids Duane Weeks Village of Middleville

Members Absent:

Rosalynn Bliss City of Grand Rapids
Bruce Brown City of Belding

Jim Buck Secretary

Rob DeWard Gaines Township
Adam Elenbaas Allendale Township

Jason EpplerCity of IoniaJerry HaleLowell TownshipBrian HarrisonCaledonia Township

Kent County Carol Hennessey Jim Holtvluwer Ottawa County Tom Hooker Byron Township City of Grandville Steve Maas Matt McConnon Courtland Township City of Wayland Tim McLean City of Wyoming Bill VerHulst Mike Verhulst City of Grand Rapids Mike Womack City of Cedar Springs Tallmadge Township Open Open City of Rockford

Open At-Large

Open At-Large Member

Others Present:

Abed Itani Grand Valley Metro Council
Chris Brown Grand Valley Metro Council
Gayle McCrath Grand Valley Metro Council
Jason Moore Grand Valley Metro Council
Wendy Ogilvie Grand Valley Metro Council
John Weiss Grand Valley Metro Council

2. Public Comment

None

3. Minutes

MOTION – To Approve the June 2017 GVMC Board Minutes. MOVE - Jones. SUPPORT – Hoppough. MOTION CARRIED.

4. Oath of Office – Wayman Britt

The Oath of Office was administered to Wayman Britt, Interim Kent County Administrator by Chair, Al Vanderberg.

5. Executive Committee Appointment and Check Signing Authority – Wayman Britt

MOTION – To Appoint Wayman Britt to the GVMC Executive Committee and Approve the Resolution on Check Signing Authority. MOVE – Poll. SUPPORT- McNabb-Stang. MOTION CARRIED.

6. Preview GVMC 2017/18 Budget

John Weiss presented the proposed 2017/2018 GVMC budget. As in years past, this is being brought to the Board a month in advance for review and then will come before the Board in September for final approval.

The Transportation portion of the budget has already gone through the entire transportation process / committees and has been approved by the GVMC Board. The REGIS budget will be approved by its Board.

Financially GVMC is very stable and strong. Overall GVMC will again have a dues freeze. Many grants are coming in from the outside to fund various initiatives such as Environmental Programs, RPI, and Asset Management. REGIS is stronger than it has ever been both operationally and financially. REGIS will have a change in dues per the REGIS Board to adjust for the fastest growing units.

Al Vanderberg stated the Executive Committee is very supportive of the way things are going with the Metro Council and are supportive of the proposed budget.

Jack Poll and Brian Donovan both commented that the current success of GVMC shows that we have the right people in the right places.

7. Adjourn 9:30 a.m. MOTION – To Adjourn. MOVE – Hoppough. SUPPORT – Poll. MOTION CARRIED.